The Palaeobolanical Society resolved in the year 1978 to award "The Palaebotanical Society International Medal" to all Palaeobotanists irrespective of their nationality, religion or creed for their outstanding and internationally acclaimed contribution to the study of fossil plants in its widest sense. The Medal is awarded every alternate year. The receipient of the medal delivers a lecture on the subject of his work at the Medal Award function.


1. The Medal shall be known as the Palaeobotanical Society International Medal.

2. It shall be awarded for outstanding contribution to the study of fossil plants in its widest sense.

3. It shall be open for award to all palaeobotanists irrespective of their nationality, religion, or creed.

4. The medal shall be awarded every alternate year, usually at the time of the Geophytological Conference.

5. For deciding the award of this medal there shall be a Committee consisting of the following:

1. Secretary Ex-Officio Convener

2. Six palaeobotanists to be nominated by the Executive Council. This committee shall
be presided over by the Senior-most attending member.

6.The procedure for selecting the recipient of this medal shall be laid down by the first such committee.

7.The recipient of the medal shall deliver a lecture on the subject of his work at-the Medal Award Function. He shall also submit two typed copies of the lecture which will be published in the journal of the Society and over which the society will have a copyright.

8. In addition to awarding the medal, the Society shall also bear the local hospitality of the awardee.

1979 Professor Thomas Maxwell Harris, University of Reading, U.K. (Mesozoic Palaeobotany - Rhaetic of Greenland and the Jurassic of Great Britain).

1981 Professor Ove Arbo Hohg, University of Oslo, Norway (Palaeozoic Palaeobotany - specially the Devonian plants of Norway and Spitzbergen).

1983 Professor William Gilbert Chaloner, University of London, U.K. (Palaeozoic Palaeobotany - specially the Devonian and Carboniferous plants).

1985 Professor Daniel I. Axelrod, University of California, Davis, U.S.A. (Cenozoic Palaeobotany, the Neogene plants).

1987 Professor Divya Darshan Pant, University of Allahabad, India (Palaeozoic Palaeobotany - Glossopteris flora).

1991 Professor Harlan Banks, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, U.S.A. (Palaeozoic Palaeobotany, Early Evolution of Land Plants). This medal, due for 1989, was awarded during the Birbal Sahni Birth Centenary year in 1991.